Best Players who haven’t won the Champions League

The UEFA Champions League is the most prestigious trophy in club football. Although many of the game’s current superstars have won it, there are still some amazing players who have not gotten their hands on the elusive trophy yet. Here we will look at three of the best players who are still playing but have not won it yet.

*Players must be at least 29 years old to qualify


Zlatan Ibrahimovic

It is still astonishing that the Swedish striker has not won the Champions League yet. Since leaving Swedish club Malmo FF to play abroad, Ibrahimovic has played for Ajax, Juventus, Inter Milan, Barcelona and AC Milan, all clubs who have won the Champions League. Inter won it the year after he left and Barcelona the year before he came and the year after he left. The hilariously egotistical striker currently plays for Paris Saint-Germain, a club which has a good chance at going far in this season’s Champions League, has scored an impressive 325 goals in 601 official club matches. One of the most impressive parts of Ibrahimovic’s high tally is the quality of the goals he has scored. He has been known for insane bicycle kicks, back-heel volleys and so much more. Zlatan Ibrahimovic is a ridiculously talented player who thoroughly deserves a Champions League title.


Robin van Persie

Manchester United striker Robin van Persie is an incredibly talented and unlucky player. He has won many individual accolades and has topped many top scorer charts, however, he has won very little silverware. At his first club, Feyenoord, he captured the UEFA Cup (now the UEFA Europa League) in 2002. Although this is a competition with European clubs from many different countries, it is much less prestigious than the Champions League because the teams who contest it are essentially Champions League rejects. While with Arsenal, the Dutchman finished as a runner-up in the 2006 Champions League, although he was an unused substitute in the final. Van Persie has scored 210 goals in 448 club appearances, is the all-time Dutch leading scorer and finished as a runner-up in the 2010 World Cup.


Gianluigi Buffon

The Italian goalkeeper is still playing incredibly well at the age of 36. After starting his career with Parma 20 years ago, Buffon is regarded as one of the best goalkeepers of his generation and rightly so. He is a charismatic leader and a great player. It’s not just amazing how reliable as a keeper’ but the kinds of saves he can make, just see for yourself. He has won loads of silverware; seven Serie A titles, one UEFA Cup and a Coppa Italia. He was even the starting goalkeeper on Italy’s 2006 World Cup winning side. He has won countless awards for being the world’s best ‘keeper and has been included intwo FIFPro World XI’s. He even finished as the runner-up for the 2006 Ballon D’or. Although all of these titles make for a successful and enjoyable career, the Juventus shot-stopper has never won the Champions League. In 2003, Buffon finished as a Champions League runner-up with Juventus, losing to domestic rivals AC Milan after a penalty shoot-out. Of all the amazing players on this list, Buffon deserves a Champions League title the most.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s